The RTA consists of a Board of Directors and a number of committees dealing with day-to-day aspects of the RTA’s operations. Each of these committees are identified in the RTA’s enabling law, PA 387 of 2012. Board members sit on these committees and review proposed actions and staff recommendations prior to Board discussion and approval.

In addition to these committees, the RTA facilitates two independent advisory groups, the Providers Advisory Committee and the Citizens Advisory Committee.

RTA Committees

Executive and Policy Committee
The Executive and Policy Committee’s authority derives from the authority of the board. The committee has significant power to perform the board’s work through regular Executive and Policy Committee meetings. The Executive Committee provides a mechanism for board members to engage, within the limits set by board policy and the bylaws, in decision making, oversight, and communication on important organizational matters.

Committee Members:
Paul Hillegonds (Chair), Donald Morandini, Brian Richard, Alma Wheeler-Smith, June Lee and Freman Hendrix

Finance and Budget Committee
The Finance and Budget Committee is a standing committee composed of members of the Board, charged with advising the Board of Directors concerning the financial affairs of the Authority. The Finance and Budget Committee recommends an annual budget and an outside auditor to the Board of Directors, recommends financial and other policies, assesses the financial impact of all policies and activities on the association, monitors the Association’s investments, and undertakes other appropriate projects as requested.

Committee Members:
Alma Wheeler-Smith (Chair), Jon Moore, Brian Richard, June Lee, and Freman Hendrix; there should only be one Committee Member list

Planning & Service Coordination Committee
The Planning and Service Coordination Committee seeks to develop, recommend, and advise the Board on transit issues. The committee will study, pursue, and encourage public and private funding for future transit-related projects to support the development and implementation of the Regional Transit Plan, coordinate transit service among communities and among service providers, review and comment on federal and/or state funded transit applications, and review existing and future transit projects.

Committee Members:
Donald Morandini (Chair), Helaine Zack, Dr. Erica Robertson, Ned Staebler, and Freman Hendrix

Providers Advisory Committee
The Providers Advisory Committee is made up of representatives from the region’s public transit service providers. It is a collaborative group that discusses coordinated projects and initiatives, and provides a monthly opportunity for transit agencies and the RTA to share information

Providers Advisory Council Liaisons:
Helaine Zack and Ned Staebler

Citizens Advisory Committee
The Citizens Advisory Committee has a wide range of advisory roles. The committee must be comprised of a certain number of persons from each Member Jurisdiction and who represent important segments of the transit-user population. The composition and purpose of the CAC is written in the RTA’s enabling law, PA 387 of 2012.

Citizens Advisory Committee Liaisons:
Ned Staebler, Erica Robertson

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window